A Local Scene Exclusive: Introducing Kanye Twitty, a Marriage of Hip-Hop and Country

BAND: KANYE TWITTY

GENRE: HIP-HOP/COUNTRY/ROCK

VENUE: ROCK BOTTOM AMERICAN PUB, MONTGOMERY, AL

Hip-hop? Country? Together?!

I was more than just a little curious how these two very different genres of music could possibly be blended together to be performed by one band. On one hand, you have country, a genre that calls to mind rural settings, acoustic guitars and banjos, and some depressing topics. On the other hand, you have hip-hop, a more urban style that seems to follow a more violent and sexual nature. Although, maybe not that much more than country, with its talk of bar fights and drinking…

In honesty, the genres aren’t that completely different. Both tell life stories. Still, the very idea…

I had the opportunity to attend a private sneak preview of Kanye Twitty at the Rock Bottom Pub last Monday. The band’s name is derived from the names of Kanye West and Conway Twitty, hip-hop and country artists respectively. I was pleasantly surprised at what I saw and heard that night.

If you may recall, I have said in the past that, if you’re going to do a cover, then you better make that song your own. Change it up, make it unique. That is exactly what Kanye Twitty does. They take these hip-hop and country songs and turn them into rock hits.

This is far more effective than you may think. These songs are given a fresh new energy. I found myself rocking out to hip-hop songs that I usually can’t stomach listening to. I found myself enjoying country songs that usually inspire me to do nothing more than hum along to the tunes. Not that any of these songs are bad on their own, mind you. And here I will admit to being biased towards rock music, though I do enjoy most of every genre.

My point is, whether you like country, hip-hop, or rock, or all three, I believe you will greatly enjoy what Kanye Twitty has to offer. Before you know it, you’ll be swept up in the energy of the music and brought to dancing in front of the stage, heady with the feel of the music vibrating through the speakers.

But don’t take my word for it. Their first full performance will be this upcoming Friday, June 3rd, at the Rock Bottom Pub. Be there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

